## **Essex Region Conservation**

the place for life



kstammler@erca.org P.519.776.5209 ext 342 F.519.776.8688 360 Fairview Avenue West Suite 311, Essex, ON N8M 1Y6

18 September 2019

Sent to all Clerks of Member Municipalities

Re: Source Protection Committee – Municipal Representation

As required by the Clean Water Act, 2006, the Essex Region Source Protection Authority (ERSPA) has an established Source Protection Committee (SPC), which follows the guidance of Ontario Regulation 288/07 (O.Reg 288/07). The SPC is composed of 15 members, including five (5) representatives from the municipal sector. The remaining two-thirds of the SPC are representatives of key industries (e.g. agriculture, greenhouse operations, and fuel suppliers) and members of the public at large.

In 2007, the ERSPA striking committee proposed the following composition of municipal representation on the SPC.

- City of Windsor 2 members
- Union Water Supply System 1 member
- Town of Lakeshore 1 member
- Town of Amherstburg 1 member

The striking committee felt that those municipalities responsible for the Water Treatment Plants that provide the largest water supplies should have the opportunity to have representation on the SPC. A letter was sent to all Clerks of Member Municipalities on July 30, 2007 to this effect, and this distribution of representation was subsequently endorsed by all municipalities in 2007. Notices were sent to Clerks on September 14, 2007 and November 13, 2007 requesting that the above named municipalities submit names of persons to be appointed to the SPC, and that municipalities endorse these persons, respectively. These persons, and all replacement municipal members were supported by municipal endorsement between 2007 and 2014. Other municipal members have been replaced since 2014 due to retirement from the SPC, municipal council and/or municipal employment. However, due to staff changes at the ERSPA and updates made to O.Reg 288/07, the names of replace members were not circulated to municipal Clerks at the time of their appointment.

As of January 1, 2020, the term of appointment for two municipal members is expiring and they must either be replaced or reappointed. Both members have indicated their intention to remain on the SPC. Antonietta Giofu (Town of Amherstburg) has been on the SPC since 2009, and Thom Hunt (City of Windsor) has been on the SPC since its inception in 2007. We are grateful for their contribution and continued commitment to the protection of our sources of drinking water.

In the past, the ERSPA followed a procedure whereby municipal Councils were asked to jointly endorse all municipal candidates prior to their formal appointment by the Essex Region Source Protection Authority as a regular SPC member. In keeping with our previous practices, at this time we are asking that all member Municipalities endorse the following individuals' appointment to the Essex Region Source Protection Committee:

- **Thom Hunt, City of Windsor**, to be reappointed December 12, 2019; expiration of appointment December 12, 2024
- **Antonietta Giofu, Town of Amherstburg**, to be reappointed December 12, 2019; expiration of appointment December 12, 2024
- **Kevin Girard, Town of Lakeshore**, appointment date: February 21, 2019; expiration of appointment February 21, 2024
- **Paul Drca, City of Windsor**, appointment date: November 2, 2015; expiration of appointment November 2, 2020
- **Nelson Santos, Union Water Supply System**, appointment date: November 2, 2015; expiration of appointment November 2, 2020

Responses in the form of Council Resolutions are kindly requested by **18 November**, **2019**. The Essex Region Source Protection Authority is scheduled to address this matter at their meeting on December 12, 2019.

This letter is sent under separate cover to municipal staff who have been appointed by their municipality to assist with Source Water Protection.

Please contact me if you require any further information,

Sincerely,

Katie Stammler, PhD

Source Water Protection Project Manager