

October 21, 2019

Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority 8195 8<sup>th</sup> Line Utopia ON, L0M 1T0

## **RE: Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority Levy**

Please be advised that at its meeting of October 16, 2019, Council of the Township of Springwater passed the following resolution:

## C457-2019

Moved by: Coughlin Seconded by: Moore

Whereas the Township of Springwater, like all municipalities in Ontario must confront fiscal limitations and re-evaluate programs, services, and the financial sustainability of each;

And Whereas the Township of Springwater is a constituent municipality in portions of the watershed under the jurisdiction of the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority and is compelled to remit non-negotiable levy funding to the Authority on an annual basis;

And Whereas the Township of Springwater cannot exercise line-item scrutiny of Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority's budget and operations nor does the Authority itself provide detailed substantiation of the same to its member municipalities like the Township of Springwater;

And Whereas the Township of Springwater must account for all taxpayer funds it expends within its operations and that it forwards to local agencies and boards;

Therefore Be It Resolved That the Township of Springwater requests that the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority provide prior to passage of its 2020 budget the following:

(1) Its interpretation and understanding of its mandated operations as found in the current Conservation Authorities Act, 1990, R.S.O. 1990, c.C.27 and its prescribed regulations;

(2) The costs of each as determined under (1);

(3) Detailed definitions and determinations of what can be characterized as nonmandatory programming and service(s); (4) The costs of each as determined under (3);

(5) Detailed definitions and determinations of fee-for-service activities of the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, the revenues they generate as the activities take place within and/or requests originate from geographic area of the Township of Springwater; and

(6) The costs that arise from programs and services enabled through the Memorandum of Understanding with the Severn Sound Environmental Association.

And That this resolution be circulated to Premier Doug Ford, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation, and Parks, the Honourable Jeff Yurek, the County of Simcoe, all Ontario municipalities, the NVCA and Ontario's other 35 Conservation Authorities, and Conservation Ontario.

Carried

Sincerely,

llanem

Renée Chaperon Clerk /cp

cc. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Jeff Yurek, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks The County of Simcoe Conservation Ontario Ontario municipalities Ontario Conservation Authorities