

April 23, 2020

The Honourable David Lametti Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada 284 Wellington Street Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H8

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

The Honourable Doug Downey Attorney General McMurtry-Scott Building, 11<sup>th</sup> Floor 720 Bay Street Toronto, ON M7A 2S9

Subject: Request to Regulate and Enforce Odour and Lighting Nuisances
Related to the Cultivation of Cannabis Plants

Dear Minister/Attorney General Lametti, Premier Ford and Attorney General Downey:

At its meeting of April 22, 2020, Hamilton City Council approved Item 5.4(d), which reads as follows:

- 5.4 (d) Repeal and Replace Public Nuisance By-law 09-110 and Amend Administrative Penalty By-law 17-225 (PED20076) (City Wide)
  - (a) That the draft by-law, attached as Appendix "A" to Report PED20076, which repeals and replaces By-law 09-110, being a By-law to Prohibit and Regulate Certain Public Nuisances within the City of Hamilton, and amends the Administrative Penalties By-law 17-225 which has been prepared in a form satisfactory to the City Solicitor, be approved and enacted by Council;
  - (b) That the Mayor be directed, on behalf of the City of Hamilton, to write to the relevant federal and provincial governments to regulate

and enforce odour and lighting nuisances related to the cultivation of cannabis plants;

- (c) That the Mayor contact the Premier of Ontario, Minister of the Attorney General, and local Members of Parliament to request that the Province extend authority to Municipalities to enforce odor and lighting nuisance complaints stemming from licensed and unlicensed cannabis cultivations within the its jurisdiction; and,
- (d) That the request be sent to other municipalities in Ontario, including the Association of Municipalities of Ontario for their endorsement.

We respectfully request your consideration with regard to this request and look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Fred Eisenberger

Mayor

## Copied:

The Honourable Filomena Tassi, M.P., Hamilton West, Ancaster, Dundas

Scott Duvall, M.P., Hamilton Mountain

Bob Bratina, M.P., Hamilton East-Stoney Creek

David Sweet, M.P., Flamborough – Glanbrook

Matthew Green, M.P., Hamilton Centre

Andrea Horwath, Opposition Party Leader, NDP of Ontario, M.P.P Hamilton Centre

Monique Taylor, M.P.P., Hamilton Mountain

Paul Miller, M.P.P., Hamilton East-Stoney Creek

Donna Skelly, M.P.P., Flamborough-Glanbrook

Sandy Shaw, M.P.P. Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas

Association of Municipalities of Ontario

Municipalities of Ontario