

Municipality of Chatham-Kent

Corporate Services Municipal Governance 315 King Street West, P.O. Box 640 Chatham ON N7M 5K8 Tel: 519.360.1998 Fax: 519.436.3237 Toll Free: 1.800.714.7497

July 21, 2020

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Re: Emancipation Day Resolution

Please be advised the Council of the Municipality of Chatham-Kent at its regular meeting held on July 20, 2020 passed the following resolution:

That Chatham-Kent Council acknowledges and supports the following Private Members Bill put forward by Majid Jowhari; M-36, *Emancipation Day*, 43rd Parliament, 1st Session that reads as follows:

That the House recognizes that:

- a) The British Parliament abolished slavery in the British Empire as of August 1, 1834
- b) Slavery existed in the British North America prior to is abolition in 1834
- c) Abolitionists and others who struggled against slavery, including those who arrived in Upper and Lower Canada by the Underground Railroad, have historically celebrated August 1, as Emancipation Day
- d) The Government of Canada announced on January 30, 2018 that it would officially recognize the United Nations International Decade for People of African Descent to highlight the important contributions that people of African Descent have made to Canadian society, and to provide a platform for conforming anti-black racism; and
- e) The heritage of Canada's people of African descent and the contributions they have made and continue to make to Canada; and that in the opinion of the House, the government should designate August 1 of every year as "Emancipation Day" in Canada

That support for this motion is sent to our Member of Parliament and all House of Commons representatives. And that support for this motion be sent to all Municipalities."

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Judy Smith at ckeirk@chatham-kent.ca

Sincerely,

Judy/Smith, CMO Director Municipal Governance Clerk /Freedom of Information Coordinator

С

All House of Commons Representatives Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

Majid Jowhari, MP

Hon Wanda Thomas Bernard Senator- Nova Scotia (East Preston)

Lianne Rood, MP, Lambton-Kent-Middlesex

Dave Epp MP Chatham-Kent –Learnington

C Ontario Municipalities