

August 13, 2020

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Prime Minister of Canada Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2 justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

Dear Prime Minister,

## RE: Formal Apology from Canadian Government to African Canadians for Slavery

At its Regular Meeting of August 4, 2020, the Town of Essex Council received a presentation by Elise Harding-Davis, African Canadian Heritage Consultant, seeking Council's support for her initiative requesting that the Government of Canada issue a formal public apology to African Canadians for enslaving people of African origin. In her presentation Ms. Harding-Davis emphasized that a public apology from the Canadian government will act as a catalyst to open meaningful dialogue and begin true change toward equity.

As a result of Council's discussion, the following resolution was passed,

"Moved by Councillor Verbeek Seconded by Councillor Bowman

**(R20-08-265)** That the public presentation by Elise Harding-Davis, from the African Canadian Heritage Consultant, asking Council to support the initiative to receive a formal apology from the Canadian Government to African Canadians for slavery, be received and supported; and

That a letter be sent to the Prime Minister of Canada in support of Ms. Harding-Davis' initiative to seek a formal apology from the Canadian Government regarding this nation's role in enslaving people of African origin. That a copy of the correspondence be sent to the County Municipalities and the County of Essex. "Carried"

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please contact the undersigned.



Most respectfully,

Robert Auger, L.L.B.

Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk

Email: rauger@essex.ca

cc Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk

County of Essex

Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager

**Town of Amherstburg** 

Email: pparker@amherstburg.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk

Town of Kingsville

Email: <u>jastrologo@kingsville.ca</u>

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk

Town of LaSalle

Email: arobertson@lasalle.ca

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk

Town of Lakeshore

Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services

Municipality of Learnington Email: <a href="mailto:bpercy@learnington.ca">bpercy@learnington.ca</a>

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk

Town of Tecumseh

Email: <a href="mailto:lmoy@tecumseh.ca">lmoy@tecumseh.ca</a>