Corporation of the Township of Essa 5786 County Road 21 Utopia, Ontario LOM 1TO



November 19, 2020

Nottawasaga
8195 8th Line
Utopia, ON
LOM 1TOSent by emailAttention:Doug Hevenor, Chief Administrative Officer NVCA
Keith White, NVCA Board Chair
Mariane McLeod, NVCA Vice ChairRe:Township of Essa Council Resolution No. CR204-2020
Bill 229 "Protect, Support and Recover from COVID19 Act – Schedule 6 –
Conservation Authorities Act"

Please be advised that at its meeting of November 18, 2020, Council of the Township of Essa

Please be advised that at its meeting of November 18, 2020, Council of the Township of Essa received a copy of information in relation to Bill 229 in addition to a verbal report from the NVCA Board Chair on the impacts to Conservation Authorities and the tricklé effect to municipalities and citizens in Ontario should the Bill pass

As a result of the discussions, Council of the Township of Essa passed the following Resolution:

Resolution No: CR204-2020 Moved by: White Seconded by: Sander

WHEREAS the Province has introduced Bill 229, Protect, Support and Recover from COVID 19 Act - Schedule 6 – Conservation Authorities Act; and

WHEREAS the Legislation introduces a number of changes and new sections that could remove and/or significantly hinder the conservation authorities' role in regulating development, permit appeal process and engaging in review and appeal of planning applications; and

WHEREAS we rely on the watershed expertise provided by local conservation authorities to protect residents, property and local natural resources on a watershed basis by regulating development and engaging in reviews of applications submitted under the Planning Act; and

WHEREAS the changes allow the Minister to make decisions without conservation authority watershed data and expertise; and

WHEREAS the Legislation suggests that the Minister will have the ability to establish standards and requirements for non-mandatory programs which are negotiated between the conservation authorities and municipalities to meet local watershed needs; and

WHEREAS municipalities believe that the appointment of municipal representatives on Conservation Authority Boards should be a municipal decision, and the Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Authority Board should be duly elected; and WHEREAS the changes to the 'Duty of Members' contradicts the fiduciary duty of a Conservation Authority Board member to represent the best interests of the conservation authority and its responsibility to the watershed; and

WHEREAS conservation authorities have already been working with the Province, development sector and municipalities to streamline and speed up permitting and planning approvals through Conservation Ontario's Client Service and Streamlining Initiative; and

WHEREAS changes to the legislation will create more red tape and costs for the conservation authorities, and their municipal partners, and potentially result in delays in the development approval process; and

WHEREAS municipalities value and rely on the natural habitats and water resources within our jurisdiction for the health and well-being of residents; municipalities value the conservation authorities' work to prevent and manage the impacts of flooding and other natural hazards; and municipalities value the conservation authority's work to ensure safe drinking water;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

- THAT the Province of Ontario repeal Schedule 6 of the Budget Measures Act (Bill 229)
- THAT the Province continue to work with conservation authorities to find workable solutions to reduce red tape and create conditions for growth
- THAT the Province respect the current conservation authority and municipal relationships; and
- THAT the Province embrace their long-standing partnership with the conservation authorities and provide them with the tools and financial resources they need to effectively implement their watershed management role.

----Carried-----

Sincecely,

Per', Lisa Lehr, CMO Clerk

cc. Conservation Ontario – Kim Gavine, General Manager Conservation Ontario – Wayne Emmerson, Chair Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Honourable Rod Phillips, Minister of Finance Honourable Jeff Yurek, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks Honourable John Yakabuski, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing