

The Corporation of The Town of Amherstburg

December 22, 2020

VIA EMAIL

Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Email: premier@ontario.ca

RE: Opposition to Further Amalgamation

At its meeting of December 14, 2020, Council passed the following recommendation for your consideration:

"That Administration BE DIRECTED to send correspondence in support of the Town of Essex's opposition to any further amalgamation and to further restructuring at this time."

Enclosed is a copy of the Town of Essex correspondence for convenience and reference purposes.

Regards,

Tammy Fowkes Deputy Clerk, Town of Amherstburg (519) 736-0012 ext. 2216 tfowkes@amherstburg.ca

Website: www.amherstburg.ca 271 SANDWICH ST. SOUTH, AMHERSTBURG, ONTARIO N9V 2A5 Phone: (519) 736-0012 Fax: (519) 736-5403 TTY: (519)736-9860 CC:

Taras Natyshak, MPP, Essex <u>tnatyshak-qp@ndp.on.ca</u>

Chris Lewis, MP Email: <u>chris.lewis@parl.gc.ca</u>

Robert Auger, Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk - Town of Essex Email: rauger@essex.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Kingsville Email: <u>jastrologo@kingsville.ca</u>

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk - Town of LaSalle Email: <u>arobertson@lasalle.ca</u>

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk - Town of Lakeshore Email: <u>knewman@lakeshore.ca</u>

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services - Municipality of Learnington Email: bpercy@learnington.ca

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Tecumseh Email: <u>Imoy@tecumseh.ca</u>

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk -County of Essex Email: <u>mbirch@countyofessex.ca</u>

Valerie Critchley, City Clerk – City of Windsor Email: <u>clerks@citywindsor.ca</u>

Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) Email: amo@amo.on.ca



Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Email: premier@ontario.ca

Re: Opposition to Further Amalgamation

Dear Premier Ford,

At its regular council meeting of November 2, 2020, Council of the Town of Essex discussed the topics of restructuring, its ongoing service delivery review and related discussion concerning the feasibility of sharing some services with other local municipalities.

As a result of the discussion that ensued, the following resolution was passed,

R20-11-417

Moved By Councillor Bondy Seconded By Councillor Garon

That the Town of Essex is strongly opposed to any further amalgamation at this time;

Whereas we feel our residents are best served now by the current model is terms of dollars and services; and

Whereas we appreciate the Municipal Modernization Grant and are working hard to ensure our municipal operations are more efficient internally and looking for possible efficiencies externally; and

Whereas we are opposed to further restructuring at this time, but we are not opposed to sharing some services where our service quality, safety and price to our residents is not comprised; and

That a letter be sent to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario and that a copy of the letter be sent to the County of Essex, all Essex County municipalities and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) advising them of the Town of Essex's position with regards to any further amalgamation at this time. **Carried**

33 Talbot Street South Essex, Ontario N8M 1A8 www.essex.ca t 519 776 7336 f 519 776 8811



Having already experienced an amalgamation in the not so distant past, the Town of Essex is instead focused on finding efficiencies and shared services where feasible for the Town and its residents and for the other regional municipalities.

Yours truly,

Robert W. Auger, L.L.B. Town Solicitor/Legal and Legislative Services, Clerk Ext. 1132 Email: rauger@essex.ca

RWA/lam

Enclosure

c.c. Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) amo@amo.on.ca

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk County of Essex Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager Town of Amherstburg Email: pparker@amherstburg.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk Town of Kingsville Email: jastrologo@kingsville.ca

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk Town of LaSalle Email: arobertson@lasalle.ca

t 519 776 7336 f 519 776 8811



Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk Town of Lakeshore Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services Municipality of Leamington Email: bpercy@leamington.ca

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk Town of Tecumseh Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca

33 Talbot Street South Essex, Ontario N8M 1A8 www.essex.ca

t 519 776 7336 f 519 776 8811