

2021 Division Road North Kingsville, Ontario N9Y 2Y9 Phone: (519) 733-2305 www.kingsville.ca kingsvilleworks@kingsville.ca

VIA EMAIL (rauger@essex.ca)

December 22, 2020

Town of Essex 33 Talbot St. South Essex, Ontario N8M 1A8

Attention: Robert W. Auger, Town Solicitor/Legal and Legislative Services, Clerk

Dear Mr. Auger:

## **RE:** Opposition to Further Amalgamation

At its Regular Meeting held Monday, December 14, 2020 Council of the Town of Kingsville supported the Town of Essex's opposition to any further amalgamation at this time, as per the following Resolution:

**"700-2020 Moved By** Councillor Tony Gaffan **Seconded By** Councillor Kimberly DeYong That Council supports Town of Essex Resolution R20-11-417 Re: Opposition to Further Amalgamation.

## CARRIED"

For reference, a copy of your correspondence to Premier Ford containing Essex Resolution R20-11-417 in its entirety (passed November 2, 2020) is enclosed.

Yours very truly,

Sandra Litchen

Sandra Kitchen, Deputy Clerk-Council Services Legislative Services Department

Encl.

CC: Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Email: (<u>premier@ontario.ca</u>)

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk County of Essex Email: <u>mbirch@countyofessex.ca</u>

Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager Town of Amherstburg Email: <u>pparker@amherstburg.ca</u>

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk Town of LaSalle Email: <u>arobertson@lasalle.ca</u>

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk Town of Lakeshore Email: <u>knewman@lakeshore.ca</u>

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services Municipality of Learnington Email: <u>bpercy@learnington.ca</u>

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk Town of Tecumseh Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca



Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Email: premier@ontario.ca

Re: Opposition to Further Amalgamation

Dear Premier Ford,

At its regular council meeting of November 2, 2020, Council of the Town of Essex discussed the topics of restructuring, its ongoing service delivery review and related discussion concerning the feasibility of sharing some services with other local municipalities.

As a result of the discussion that ensued, the following resolution was passed,

## R20-11-417

Moved By Councillor Bondy Seconded By Councillor Garon

**That** the Town of Essex is strongly opposed to any further amalgamation at this time;

**Whereas** we feel our residents are best served now by the current model is terms of dollars and services; and

**Whereas** we appreciate the Municipal Modernization Grant and are working hard to ensure our municipal operations are more efficient internally and looking for possible efficiencies externally; and

**Whereas** we are opposed to further restructuring at this time, but we are not opposed to sharing some services where our service quality, safety and price to our residents is not comprised; and

**That** a letter be sent to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario and that a copy of the letter be sent to the County of Essex, all Essex County municipalities and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) advising them of the Town of Essex's position with regards to any further amalgamation at this time. **Carried** 

33 Talbot Street South Essex, Ontario N8M 1A8 www.essex.ca t 519 776 7336 f 519 776 8811



Having already experienced an amalgamation in the not so distant past, the Town of Essex is instead focused on finding efficiencies and shared services where feasible for the Town and its residents and for the other regional municipalities.

Yours truly,

Robert W. Auger, L.L.B. Town Solicitor/Legal and Legislative Services, Clerk Ext. 1132 Email: rauger@essex.ca

RWA/lam

Enclosure

c.c. Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) amo@amo.on.ca

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk County of Essex Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager Town of Amherstburg Email: pparker@amherstburg.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk Town of Kingsville Email: jastrologo@kingsville.ca

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk Town of LaSalle Email: arobertson@lasalle.ca

t 519 776 7336 f 519 776 8811



Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk Town of Lakeshore Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services Municipality of Leamington Email: bpercy@leamington.ca

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk Town of Tecumseh Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca

33 Talbot Street South Essex, Ontario N8M 1A8 www.essex.ca

t 519 776 7336 f 519 776 8811