

The Corporation of The Cown of Amherstburg

February 8, 2021 VIA EMAIL

Honourable Julie Miville-Dechene Senate of Canada julie.miville-dechene@sen.parl.gc.ca

Re: Support of Bill S-216, an Act to enact the Modern Slavery Act and to amend the Customs Tariff

Dear Honourable Miville-Dechene,

At its meeting of January 11th, 2021, Amherstburg Town Council passed the following:

"Whereas it is estimated that at least 40 million men, women and children around the world are victims of modern slavery, a term that is not explicitly defined by international law but encompasses a whole series of practices, including sex and other trafficking and forced marriage, in which a person is exploited or forced to work through violence, threats, coercion, abuse of power or fraud;

And Whereas, of these, 16 million human beings, both adults and children, are trafficked for forced labour in the private sector, according to International Labour Organization estimates:

And Whereas Bill S-216, an Act to enact the Modern Slavery Act and to amend the Customs Tariff, is a tool for transparency to fight against modern slavery and will help Canada to more strictly adhere to the letter of its international commitments;

And Whereas Town of Amherstburg Council understands the severity of modern slavery and wishes to assist in motivating businesses to eliminate the use of any form of child labour in their global supply chains, and empower consumers and investors to engage meaningfully on this important issue;

Now therefore let it be resolved that Town of Amherstburg Council supports Bill S-216, an Act to enact the Modern Slavery Act and a letter indicating Council's support be sent to the Honourable Julie Miville-Dechene, local MP's and MPP's and all regional Town Councils.

Regards,

Tammy Fowkes
Deputy Clerk, Town of Amherstburg
(519) 736-0012 ext. 2216
tfowkes@amherstburg.ca

CC:

Taras Natyshak, MPP, Essex County Email: tnatyshak-co@ndp.on.ca

Chris Lewis, MP, Essex County Email: chris.lewis@parl.gc.ca

Robert Auger, Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk - Town of Essex

Email: rauger@essex.ca

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Kingsville

Email: jastrologo@kingsville.ca

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk - Town of LaSalle

Email: arobertson@lasalle.ca

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk - Town of Lakeshore

Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services - Municipality of Learnington

Email: bpercy@leamington.ca

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Tecumseh

Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk -County of Essex

Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Valerie Critchley, City Clerk – City of Windsor

Email: clerks@citywindsor.ca