## TOWNSHIP OF McMURRICH/MONTEITH



District of Parry Sound P.O. Box 70 31 William Street Sprucedale, Ontario POA 1Y0 Phone 705-685-7901 Fax 705-685-7393

www.mcmurrichmonteith.comE-Mail: clerk@mcmurrichmonteith.comReeve: Angela FriesenClerk/Treasurer: Cheryi Marshall

The Honourable Patty Hajdu Federal Minister of Health House of Commons Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6 Via email: <u>patty.hajdu@pal.gc.ca</u>

August 3, 2021

Re: Support for 9-8-8 - a 3 Digit Suicide and Crisis Prevention Hotline

Please be advised that on July 15, 2021 the Township of McMurrich/Monteith Council passed the following motion to support the Town of Caledon letter endorsing the 9-8-8 crisis line initiative to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in a crisis and seeking help.

Resolution 2021-243 Beilke/O'Halloran

Whereas the Federal government has passed a motion to adopt 9-8-8, a National three-digit suicide and crisis hotline;

And Whereas the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has increased the demand for suicide prevention services by 200%;

And Whereas existing suicide prevention hotlines require the user to remember a 10-digit number and go through directories or be placed on hold;

And Whereas in 2022 the United States will have in place a national 9-8-8 crisis hotline;

And Whereas in Township of McMurrich/Monteith recognizes that it is a significant and important initiative to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in crisis and seeking help;

Now Therefore Be It Resolved that the Township of McMurrich/Monteith endorses this 9-8-8 crisis line initiative; and that Staff be directed to send a letter indicating such support to our local Member of Parliament, Member(s) of the Legislative Assembly, Federal Minister of Health, the CRTC and local area municipalities to indicate our support.

Yours truly,

Nova Bastala

Mardi Boshold Acting Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Township of McMurrich/Monteith

cc: The Honourable Christine Elliott, Minister of Health, Ontario – <u>christine.elliott@ontario.ca</u> Norm Miller, MPP for Parry Sound-Muskoka – <u>norm.miller@pc.ola.org</u> Scott Aitchison, MP for Parry Sound-Muskoka – <u>scott.aitchison@parl.gc.ca</u> Ian Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer – CRTC – <u>iscott@telesat.com</u> All Ontario Municipalities