

August 13, 2021

TO: The Honourable Justin Trudeau

> Prime Minister of Canada Office of Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Email: justin.trudeau@parl.gc.on

AND TO: Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario

Premier of Ontario

Legislative Building, Queen's Park

Toronto, ON M7A 1Y7

Email: Doug.fordco@pc.ola.org

Re: Include the PSA Test for Men into the Medical Care

Dear Honourable Trudeau,

At its Regular Council Meeting held on July 19, 2021, Town of Essex Council discussed the Town of Cochrane's resolution calling on the Federal and Provincial Governments to move to incorporate the PSA test into the national health care system such that it be made available for all Canadian men at no charge. Council noted the importance of early detection of prostate cancer and the need for all Canadian men to have access to the PSA test. I am pleased to report that as a result of that review Council passed the following resolution:

R21-07-312

Moved by: Deputy Richard Meloche Seconded By: Councillor Vander Doelen



That the correspondence from Town of Cochrane dated June 24, 2021, requesting the Federal and Provincial Governments move to have the PSA test included in the national health care system for all Canadian men at no charge be received and supported; and

That a letter of support be circulated to The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, The Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health Canada, The Honourable Christine Elliott, Minister of Health Ontario, Taras Natyshak MPP for Essex, and Chris Lewis, MP for Essex and all local Essex County municipalities.

Carried

I trust you will find this satisfactory. If you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

Robert W. Auger, L.L.B.

Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk rauger@essex.ca

The Town of Cochrane C.C.

Email: townhall@cochraneontario.com

Minister of Health (Canada), Honourable Patty Hajdu

Email: Patty. Hajdu@parl.gc.on

Minister of Health (Ontario), Hon. Christine Elliott

Email: christine.elliott@pc.ola.org



MPP Taras Natyshak

Email: tnatyshak-cp@ndp.on.ca

MP Chris Lewis

Email: Chris.Lewis@parl.gc.ca

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk

County of Essex

Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Paula Parker, Municipal Clerk/Risk Manager

Town of Amherstburg

Email: pparker@amherstburg.ca

Sandra Kitchen, Deputy Clerk

Town of Kingsville

Email: skitchen@kingsville.ca

Linda Jean, Deputy Clerk

Town of LaSalle

Email: ljean@lasalle.ca

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk

Town of Lakeshore

Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services

Municipality of Leamington

Email: bpercy@leamington.ca

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk

Town of Tecumseh

Email: Imoy@tecumseh.ca