

October 7, 2021

TO: The Honourable Doug Ford

Premier of Ontario

Legislative Building, Queen's Park

Toronto, ON M7A 1Y7

Email: <a href="mailto:premier@ontario.ca">premier@ontario.ca</a>

Re: Support of Suicide Prevention Hotline

Dear Premier Ford,

At its Regular Council Meeting held on June 21, 2021, Town of Essex Council discussed the Municipality of Lakeshore's resolution regarding a National Suicide Prevention Hotline and endorsement for the 988 crisis line. Council addressed the issue of increased suicide prevention services due to COVID-19 and the need to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in crisis. I am pleased to report that as a result of that review Council passed the following resolution:

R21-06-267 Moved by: Councillor Verbeek Seconded By: Councillor Bondy

**That** the correspondence from Municipality of Lakeshore dated May 27, 2021, requesting support for a National Suicide Prevention Hotline and endorsement for the 988 crisis line initiative be received and supported with a letter of support; and

**That** the Town of Essex send its own letter requesting support for this initiative with circulation to Chris Lewis, MP, Taras Natyshak, MPP, Federal Minister of Health, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications and all local area municipalities.



Carried

I trust you will find this satisfactory. If you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

Robert W. Auger, L.L.B.

Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk

rauger@essex.ca

**MP Chris Lewis** c.c.

Email: Chris.Lewis@parl.gc.ca

MPP Taras Natyshak

Email: tnatyshak-cp@ndp.on.ca

lan Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer

Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)

Email: <u>iscott@telesat.com</u>

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk

County of Essex

Email: mbirch@countyofessex.ca

Tammy Fowkes, Municipal Clerk

Town of Amherstburg

Email: tfowkes@amherstburg.ca



Paula Parker, Town Clerk Town of Kingsville

Email: pparker@kingsville.ca

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk

Town of LaSalle

Email: arobertson@lasalle.ca

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk

Town of Lakeshore

Email: knewman@lakeshore.ca

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services

Municipality of Leamington Email: <a href="mailto:bpercy@leamington.ca">bpercy@leamington.ca</a>

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk

Town of Tecumseh

Email: <a href="mailto:lmoy@tecumseh.ca">lmoy@tecumseh.ca</a>



May 27, 2021

Mr. Chris Lewis, M.P. 316 Talbot St. N. Essex, ON N8M 2E1

Dear Mr. Lewis:



## **RE: Support for National Suicide Prevention Hotline**

At their meeting held May 25, 2021 the Council of the Municipality of Lakeshore passed the following resolution:

## 173-05-2021

Whereas the Federal government has passed a motion to adopt 988, a National three-digit suicide and crisis hotline;

And whereas the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has increased the demand for suicide prevention services by 200 percent;

And whereas existing suicide prevention hotlines require the user to remember a ten-digit number and go through directories or be placed on hold;

And whereas in 2022 the United States will have in place a national 988 crisis hotline;

And whereas the Municipality of Lakeshore recognizes that it is a significant and important initiative to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in a crisis and seeking help;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Council of the Municipality of Lakeshore endorses this 988 crisis line initiative; and Direct Administration to send a letter indicating such support to the local MP, MPP, Federal Minister of Health, the CRTC and local area municipalities to indicate support.

**Carried Unanimously** 





Should you require any additional information with respect to the matter above, please contact the undersigned.

Sincerely,

Brianna Coughlin

Manager of Legislative Services

cc: MPP Tara Natyshak Federal Minister of Health

Beinna Colylli

CRTC

County of Essex municipalities