

# LCS-2021-33 Attachment 1 – List of Committees and Boards

## **Business Improvement Area (BIA) Board of Management**

This non-profit organization represents and promotes a defined geographic area of the Town as a business or shopping area (north of County Road 22). The Board also oversees the improvement, beautification and maintenance of municipally-owned land, buildings and structures in the area beyond that provided at the expense of the municipality generally.

The BIA is governed by a nine (9) member Board of Management comprised of two (2) Directors appointed directly by Council and seven (7) members of the BIA, selected by a vote of the membership of the improvement area. The Board is appointed for the term of Council. Vacancies on the Board during the term of Council, are filled by direct appointment by Council.

The BIA meets monthly on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 pm at the BIA Office located at 12122 Tecumseh Rd. E., Tecumseh.

The following is a list of the current Board Members and the names of the qualified applicants:

#### **Business Improvement Area (BIA) Board of Management Members**

Current Members	2022 Applicants
<ul> <li>Councillor Brian Houston</li> <li>Councillor Andrew Dowie</li> <li>Paul Bistany, Bistany Real Estate</li> <li>Jules Champoux, CPCA, Life and Health Insurance Advisor</li> <li>Linda Proctor</li> <li>Leo Demarce, Blackie's Corner</li> <li>Jessica Fowler, Fowler Plumbing</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Travis Dorner</li> <li>Sandra Zanet</li> <li>Eddy Hammoud</li> </ul>

There are four (4) vacant position on the BIA Board of Management.

#### **Tecumseh Accessibility Advisory Committee**

*The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005* (AODA) paragraph 29(1) requires municipalities with a population of not less than 10,000 to establish an Accessibility Advisory Committee to advise Council each year about the preparation, implementation and effectiveness of the municipality's Accessibility Plan, in addition to other obligations as established by the AODA.

Section 29(3) of the AODA requires that the majority of the members of the Committee be persons with disabilities.

The Tecumseh Accessibility Advisory Committee (TAAC) normally meets quarterly at 12:00 pm at Town Hall.

Currently, six (6) members are appointed to the TAAC, four (4) of which are persons with disabilities.

The following is a list of the current Committee Members on the TAAC:

#### **Tecumseh Accessibility Advisory Committee Members**

Current Members	2022 Applicants	
<ul> <li>Councillor Tania Jobin</li> <li>Ron Doherty</li> <li>Catherine Rutherford</li> <li>Ron Matysek</li> <li>Linda Stanczak</li> <li>David Golden</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Karen Rutherford</li><li>Melissa Bloomfield</li></ul>	

## Heritage Committee

The Heritage Committee is appointed under the *Ontario Heritage Act*. The Committee may advise on matters related to the Act and to properties in the Town that have cultural heritage value and which the Town may wish to protect from destruction or harmful change by passing of a Designation By-law as provided for in the *Ontario Heritage Act*.

Tecumseh Council is required, under the *Ontario Heritage Act*, to consult with its Heritage Committee during the designation/repeal-of-designation process for individual properties or districts and on applications to demolish/remove structures from, or otherwise alter designated properties.

Statutory role of the Municipal Heritage Committee:

- Designation advise Council prior to the designation of a property;
- Repeal of Designation advise Council prior to the repeal of a by-law or part thereof designating property;
- Amendment of Designation advise Council prior to the amendment of a by-law or part thereof designating a property;
- Alteration of a Designated Property advise Council on applications to alter a designated property where such proposed alteration may affect the reasons for designation as set out in the by-law designating the property;
- Demolition advise Council on applications to demolish or remove any building or structure on designated property;

- Easements / Covenants advise Council before the passing of by-laws providing for the entering into of easements or covenants with the owners of real property, or interests therein, for the conservation of buildings of historical or architectural value or interest; and
- Districts advise Council before passing a by-law to define one or more areas to be examined for designation as a heritage conservation district.

Meetings of the Heritage Committee are regularly held once a month on the third Monday at 6:00 pm, at Tecumseh Town Hall.

There has not been a limit placed on the number of members that can be appointed to this Committee. The Committee welcomes new and diverse Members.

The following is a list of the current members of the Heritage Committee:

#### Heritage Committee Members

Current Members	2022 Applicants	
<ul> <li>Councillor Bill Altenhof</li> <li>Chris Carpenter</li> <li>Amanda Deshaies</li> <li>Marian Drouillard</li> <li>Dwayne Ellis</li> <li>Charles Gray</li> <li>John Levesque</li> <li>Rita Ossington</li> </ul>	Kathy Montcalm	