Special Meeting of Council

Minutes

Date: Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Time: 3:00 pm

Location: Tecumseh Town Hall - Council Chambers

917 Lesperance Road

Tecumseh, Ontario N8N 1W9

Present:

Mayor, Gary McNamara Deputy Mayor, Joe Bachetti Councillor, James Dorner Councillor, Alicia Higgison Councillor, Brian Houston Councillor, Tania Jobin Councillor, Rick Tonial

Also Present:

Chief Administrative Officer, Margaret Misek-Evans

Acting Clerk, Jennifer Alexander

Director Community & Recreation Services, Paul Anthony

Director Public Works & Engineering Services, Phil Bartnik

Director Community Safety & Fire Chief, Wade Bondy

Director People & Culture, Michelle Bonnici

Director Technology & Client Services, Shaun Fuerth

Director Development Services, Brian Hillman

Director Financial Services & Chief Financial Officer, Tom Kitsos Deputy Clerk - Clerks Services & Policy Advisor, Christina Hebert

A. Roll Call

B. Call to Order

The Mayor calls the meeting to order at 3:00 pm.

C. Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that we are on land and surrounded by water, originally inhabited by Indigenous Peoples who have travelled this area since time immemorial. This territory is within the lands honoured by the Wampum Treaties; agreements between the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee, Lenni Lenape and allied Nations to peacefully share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. Specifically, we would like to acknowledge the presence of the Three Fires Confederacy Ojibwe, Odawa, Potawatomi and Huron/Wendat Peoples. We are

dedicated to honouring Indigenous history and culture while remaining committed to moving forward respectfully with all First Nations, Inuit and Métis.

D. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

There is no pecuniary interest declared by a Member of Council.

E. Delegations

The Chief Administrative Officer welcomes the newly elected Council and gives opening remarks. The purpose of this meeting is to provide the Members with an orientation of each department along with their respective responsibilities, current and future projects. Each Director presents their department presentation as appended on the agenda and responds to questions from the Members.

- 1. Chief Administrative Officer
- 2. Legislative and Clerk Services
- 3. Financial Services
- 4. Community Safety

The Mayor recesses at 4:06 pm and reconvenes the meeting at 4:14 pm.

- 5. Community and Recreation Services
- 6. Development Services
- 7. Public Works and Engineering Services
- 8. Technology and Client Services
- 9. Chief Administrative Officer People and Culture

Motion: SCM - 29/22

Moved By Councillor Rick Tonial Seconded By Councillor Brian Houston

That the department presentations as listed on the agenda under Delegations **be received**.

Carried

F. Communications

There are no communication items presented to Council.

G. Reports

There are no reports presented to Council.

H. Adjournment

Motion: SCM - 30/22

Moved By Councillor Alicia Higgison Seconded By Councillor James Dorner

That there being no further business, the Tuesday, November 29, 2022 meeting of the Special Council Meeting **be adjourned** at 5:48 pm.

Carried
Gary McNamara, Mayor
Jennifer Alexander, Acting Clerk